In 1998, the State Legislature enacted a homestead exemption for Maine residents. This exemption allows homeowners whose principle residence is in Maine a reduction in valuation (adjusted by the town's certified assessment ratio). The reduction in Windham this year is $15,000 off the assessed valuation of your property.
If you are a Maine homeowner and have resided at the property for at least 12 months prior to April 1st, you may be eligible for this State Property Tax Relief Program in the coming year.
Applications must be filed with the Assessor's office by April 1, 2016, in order to qualify for the 2016/17 tax year. All new homeowners will receive an application in the mail prior to April 1st.
If you received the exemption for the 2015/16 tax year in Windham, you need not file again, unless you have changed properties. Homestead Exemption Application